Jico - NIPPON PRECISION JEWEL INDUSTRY CO., LTD.

JICO

Among audiophile analog listeners, JICO is a byword for excellent replicas of turntable needles. But who is this company JICO and is it really as good as its reputation? We would like to tell you something about JICO.

JICO is a Japanese company with a long tradition. The company’s headquarters are located in the small town of Hamasaka, just a few minutes’ walk from the Japanese Sea, about 200 km from the next large town of Osaka and Kobe. The “Nakakawa Needle Factory” was founded in 1873 by Ichihara Soubei and originally produced sewing needles for the production of kimonos. Background of the company name was the fact that these needles would have to be “procured” from far distances, which was not to be managed well by the limited infrastructure at that time and the cold, snowy winters. The working materials and tools for the manufacturing process were also not available and had to be developed and manufactured in-house. But probably precisely because of this the knowledge of the material and the processing techniques was very large and grew constantly. Following this tradition of buying nothing in technology and producing everything but the raw materials himself, Jico continues to follow this tradition to this day.

Milestones:

  • 1949: Production and sale of steel record needles
  • 1964: the first productions of tonne needles equipped with precious stones are started.
  • 1993: Start of development and production of diamonds and dressers
  • 2004: overseas distribution begins
  • 2008: The Needle Repair Service starts via Internet
  • 2010: Approval for the SME Management Innovation Support Act applied for
  • 2015: first exhibition of record needles and accessories at the “HIGH END 2015” in Munich
  • 2018: Opening of the branch in Tokyo in Shirokanedai, Minato-ku, Tokyo
  • 2018: JICO is distributed by MrStylus –> see in shop <–

Today – roughly speaking – Jico offers 3 different quality ranges: “good replicas”, “replicas, better than other manufacturers” with special cuts and the glorious absolutely high-end “SAS series”.

“good replicas”
There are and were many manufacturers for reproduction needles, but only a few good ones. A Swiss manufacturer is still in the race and Jico. The Swiss are equal in this discipline Jico, if not even in some cases better and cheaper by the proximity to home. For this reason we only have needles from this quality range in our shop, if our Swiss offers nothing or the Jico needle is actually better.

“Reproductions, better than other manufacturers”
Now there is of course the music lover with increased demand. Van-den-Hul listeners, for example, or microline-cut fans or hyper-elliptical fanatics (may I be forgiven for the nicely meant names) who can’t find a worthy replacement needle. This needle is then produced in a similar quality (or sometimes even above it) as the original needle by Jico – keyword Shibata cut for example.

“SAS Series”
Almost unbelievable: what Jico makes here is absolute high-end. From the body, to the needle suspension, needle carrier, partly made of boron or sapphire and cuts in perfection. No effort seems high enough to build the perfect stylus with optimized vibration behavior. Yes, SAS really costs money to manufacture, but is worth every cent with the right hi-fi equipment.

Jico - NIPPON PRECISION JEWEL INDUSTRY CO., LTD.

JICO

JICO ist unter audiophilen Analoghörern ein Inbegriff für exzellente Nachbauten für Plattenspielernadeln. Doch wer ist diese Firma JICO eigentlich und ist sie wirklich so gut wie ihr Ruf?
Ich möchte hier etwas über JICO erzählen.

JICO ist eine japanische Firma mit einer langen Tradition. Der Hauptsitz der Firma befindet sich in der Kleinstadt Hamasaka, nur ein paar Gehminuten vom Japanischen Meer entfernt, ca. 200 km von der nächsten großen Stadt Osaka und Kobe. Entstanden ist die „Nakakawa Needle Factory“, gegründet im Jahre 1873 durch Ichihara Soubei und stellte ursprünglich Nähnadeln für die Fertigung von Kimonos her. Hintergrund der Firmierung war der, dass diese Nadeln von weiter Entfernung her „besorgt“ werden hätten müssten, was durch die damalige eingeschränkten Infrastruktur und die kalten, schneereichen Winter nicht gut zu bewerkstelligen war. Auch die Arbeitsmaterialien und Werkzeuge für den Fertigungsprozess waren so nicht vorhanden und mussten in Eigenleistung entwickelt und hergestellt werden. Aber vermutlich genau dadurch war das Wissen um das Material und die Verarbeitungstechniken sehr groß und wuchs ständig an. Dieser Tradition folgend, nach Möglichkeit nichts an Technik zuzukaufen und alles bis auf die Rohmaterialien selbst herzustellen, folgt JICO bis heute.

Meilensteine:
> 1949: Herstellung und Verkauf von Schallplattennadeln aus Stahl
> 1964: die ersten Produktionen von Tonnadeln, die mit Edelsteinen bestückt wurden, laufen an
> 1993: Beginn der Entwicklung und Herstellung von Diamanten und Abrichtern
> 2004: der Vertrieb nach Übersee beginnt
> 2008: der Nadel-Reparaturservice startet via Internet
> 2010: die Genehmigung für das SME Management Innovation Support Act wrd beantragt
> 2015: erste Ausstellung von Schallplattennadeln und Zubehör auf der „HIGH END 2015“ in München
> 2018: Eröffnung der Niederlassung in Tokio in Shirokanedai, Minato-ku, Tokio
> 2018: JICO wird von MrStylus vertrieben

Heute – grob zusammengefasst – bietet JICO 3 verschiedene Qualitätsbereiche an: „gute Nachbauten“, „zumeist besser wie andere Hersteller“ mit speziellen Schliffen und die ruhmreiche absolut high-endige „SAS Serie“.

„gute Nachbauten“
Es gibt und gab sehr viele Hersteller für Nachbaunadeln, aber nur wenige Gute. Ein Schweizer Hersteller ist noch im Rennen und eben JICO. Die Schweizer sind in dieser Disziplin JICO ebenbürdig, wenn nicht sogar in einzelnen Fällen besser und günstiger durch die Heimatnähe. Aus diesem Grund haben wir hier im Shop nur Nadeln aus diesem Qualitätsbereich, wenn unsere Schweizer Manufaktur nichts anbietet oder die JICO-Nadel tatsächlich besser ist.

„zumeist besser wie andere Hersteller“
Jetzt gibt es natürlich den Musikliebhaber mit gesteigertem Bedarf. Van-den-Hul Hörer zum Beispiel oder Microline-Schliff Anhänger oder die hyperelliptische Fanatiker (möge man mir die nett gemeinten Bezeichnungen vergeben), die keine ebenwürdige Ersatznadel mehr finden. Diese wird dann in ähnlicher Qualität (oder auch manchmal darüber) wie die Originalnadel von JICO gefertigt – Stichwort Shibata-Schliff zum Beispiel.

„SAS Serie“
Beinahe unfassbar: was JICO hier fertigt, ist absolutes High-End. Vom Korpus, über die Nadelaufhängung, Nadelträger zum Teil aus Bor oder Saphir und Schliffarten in Perfektion. Kein Aufwand scheint hoch genug, die perfekte Abtastnadel mit optimiertem Schwingungsverhalten zu bauen. Ja, SAS kostet richtig Geld in der Herstellung, aber ist bei entsprechendem Hifi Equipment jeden Cent wert.

Markiert in: